UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION PLAN BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Explanation for Partially-Closed Meeting

Notice Pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 552b(d)(3)

October 24, 2024 12:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.

1. Written Explanation for Closing a Portion of the Meeting:

The Board of Directors of the Unified Carrier Registration Plan ("UCRP") invokes Exemptions 9B and 10 of the Government in the Sunshine Act (5 U.S.C. § 552b(c)(9)(B) and 5 U.S.C. § 552b(c)(10)) to close a portion of the Board meeting held on October 24, 2024. The Board has determined that it is necessary to close a portion of the meeting to the public since conducting an open discussion is likely to disclose matters that are likely to significantly frustrate the implementation of a proposed UCRP action and/or concern the UCRP's participation in a civil action or proceeding. Specifically, the discussion will involve the UCRP's participation in the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board ("TTAB") trademark cancellation proceeding initiated by the Small Business in Transportation Coalition, Inc. ("SBTC") against the UCRP's federally registered logo. The UCRP Chief Legal Officer will also discuss the legal and financial options available to the UCRP in responding to the letter received on September 5, 2024 from legal counsel to the SBTC concerning the TTAB proceeding. The Board has determined that closing this portion of the meeting is necessary to facilitate the candid exchange of views between client and counsel required for the Board's effective participation in discussions involving the UCRP's response to the letter.

2. List of Persons Expected to Attend and their Affiliation:

Name: Affiliation:

Avelino Gutierrez Executive Director, UCRP
Matt Mantione Chief of Staff, UCRP

Michelle Hall Operations Manager, UCRP

Mike Denniston Outside Legal Counsel to UCRP, Bradley Alex Leath Chief Legal Officer, UCRP, Bradley

Frederic Wood FMCSA Heather MacClintock FMCSA

Elizabeth Leaman Board Member (Chair)

David Bauer **Board Member Board Member** Brandon Buchanan Chris Burroughs **Board Member** William Debord **Board Member** Carol Fallin **Board Member** Mike Hoeme **Board Member** Jessica Kines **Board Member** Terrence Mercer **Board Member** Ryan Nance Board Member
Matthew Perkinson Board Member
Crystal Stevens Board Member
Monte Wiederhold Board Member

No other person will be allowed to participate in the meeting during the closed portion of the meeting.